X-Gen gets a mid-life crisis

New York times has an article on how Gen-x is getting old.

I remember getting Douglas Coupland’s Generation X as a present once in Uni and wondering what to do with it.  I didnt know what Veal fattening pens were in those days.  Little did I know it was a sign of my future.  Now I think back on all the dull bank cubicles I’ve occupied in various countries around the world and wish I had taken some photographs of the sheer banality.  The same Techie smurf and Buzz Lightyear would probably be on most.  Some ironic cartoon, a dilbert probably with the caption changed to be something more cutting.  I actually have some from Sydney that I took with a few balloons still hanging from some dull milestone celebration or other – dark storm clouds looming in the background. I’ll see if I can find them.

It’s such a brutal article, I found myself wanting to cringe from the attack.   I could see myself at every turn, every generalisation of a cultural cliche was a badge I had called and even still call my own.  “We’re all individuals” chant the crowd.

Or maybe the article is just a movie review in the guise of a sentimental pseudo philosophy, in which case we should blank it like the good media-jujitsu kids that we are.

Link

One Response

  1. I discovered your blog page on the search engines and look some of the early posts. Keep up fantastic work. Seeking forward to reading through more of your stuff later on!.

Leave a Reply

